2013 MAC Soccer Season Preview: Miami RedHawks

Michael Dodge

The Miami RedHawks lose the MAC Player of the Year in Jess Kodiak, but return plenty as they give it ago at yet another MAC championship.

The Miami RedHawks stand to be the best the MAC has to offer again in 2013. A season ago, Miami:

  1. Won the MAC tournament
  2. Set a school record for victories (20)
  3. Posted a record of 10-0-1 in MAC play (only the second team to go unbeaten in conference play)
  4. Made the second round of the NCAA tournament, defeating favored Tennessee in the first round

Coach Bobby Kramig has been at the helm of the women’s team in Oxford since the its inaugural season 17 years ago. In that time the RedHawks have put together a record of 174-127-22.

In 2012, while not only running the table versus MAC opponents, Miami outscored them at a 2.5-to-1 rate. They were particularly lethal in the second half of play, netting 34 goals in that frame.

Three players scored 10 goals or more in 2012, with MAC player of the year Jess Kodiack pouring in 12 goals (and adding 12 assists). Kodiak has graduated, but returning are two of the players who scored 10 goals. Kelsey Dinges and Haley Walter combine to return 21 goals between the two of them. Dinges was a First-Team All-MAC selection and Walter was named MAC Freshman of The Year for Miami.

Not only is Kodiak a big loss for the RedHawks, but also losing Emilee Kaminski on defense will require Miami to put up someone in her place, something they have proved more than capable of doing in recent years.

Kayla Zakrzewski (also an All-MAC first teamer) returns in the midfield to help keep the pace up on a fast attacking group of RedHawks, joining Jess Bronke, who started in the midfield all 24 games last year.

On defense, senior Sam Parrish returns to lead a successful group of Miami defenders into the 2013 season. Allison Norenberg returns in the net for the RedHawks after leading the team in minutes played as a redshirt freshman. She also posted an impressive 10 shutouts this past season.

Miami starts off its 2013 season on the road at Illinois State on Friday, August 23rd. The teams will hosts a solid Louisville squad, Milwaukee and Purdue over a week-long stretch the starting Sept. 8 and finishing on Sept. 15.


Date Opponent Location Time (ET) Results Media
Sat, Aug 17 Xavier (exhibition) Cincinnati, Ohio 7:00 p.m. 3 - 0
STATS
Fri, Aug 23 Illinois State Normal, Ill. 5:00 p.m.
Sun, Aug 25 Valparaiso Valparaiso, Ind. 2:00 p.m.
Fri, Aug 30 Belmont Oxford, Ohio 5:00 p.m.
Fri, Sep 06 IPFW Fort Wayne, Ind. 7:30 p.m.
Sun, Sep 08 Louisville Oxford, Ohio 1:00 p.m.
Fri, Sep 13 Milwaukee Oxford, Ohio 4:00 p.m.
Sun, Sep 15 Purdue (Senior Day) Oxford, Ohio 1:00 p.m.
Live Video Available - Link available at start time
Sun, Sep 22 Marshall Huntington, W. Va. 12:00 p.m.
Fri, Sep 27 Akron * Akron, Ohio 7:00 p.m.
Sun, Sep 29 Buffalo * Buffalo, N.Y. 12:00 p.m.
Fri, Oct 04 Ohio * Oxford, Ohio 4:00 p.m.
Sun, Oct 06 Kent State * Oxford, Ohio 1:00 p.m.
Fri, Oct 11 Western Michigan * Kalamazoo, Mich. 3:00 p.m.
Sun, Oct 13 Eastern Michigan * Ypsilanti, Mich. 1:00 p.m.
Fri, Oct 18 Northern Illinois * Oxford, Ohio 4:00 p.m.
Sun, Oct 20 Toledo * Oxford, Ohio 1:00 p.m.
Fri, Oct 25 Central Michigan * Oxford, Ohio 3:00 p.m.
Sun, Oct 27 Bowling Green * Bowling Green, Ohio 1:00 p.m.
Thu, Oct 31 Ball State * Muncie, Ind. 3:00 p.m.
Mid-American Conference Tournament
Sun, Nov 03 MAC Quarterfinals Campus Sites TBA
Fri, Nov 08 MAC Semifinals Campus Sites TBA
Sun, Nov 10 MAC Championship Campus Sites TBA
spacer

More from Hustle Belt:

X
Log In Sign Up

forgot?
Log In Sign Up

Forgot password?

We'll email you a reset link.

If you signed up using a 3rd party account like Facebook or Twitter, please login with it instead.

Forgot password?

Try another email?

Almost done,

Join Hustle Belt

You must be a member of Hustle Belt to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at Hustle Belt. You should read them.

Join Hustle Belt

You must be a member of Hustle Belt to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at Hustle Belt. You should read them.

Spinner

Authenticating

Great!

Choose an available username to complete sign up.

In order to provide our users with a better overall experience, we ask for more information from Facebook when using it to login so that we can learn more about our audience and provide you with the best possible experience. We do not store specific user data and the sharing of it is not required to login with Facebook.

tracking_pixel_9341_tracker