clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Hustle Belt Awards Standings: Week 9

Heading into Week 10, here's how the Hustle Belt Awards Watch List's play out.


Roethlisberger Golden Arm Award

1. Keith Wenning (Ball State) - Wenning keeps doing it to 'em. Five touchdown passes last week in the Cardinals' win over Akron.

2. Tyler Tettleton (Ohio) - Tettleton has both the MAC's best passer rating and completion percentage. He also has Donte Foster.

3. Jordan Lynch (Northern Illinois) - If this were the Jordan Lynch Golden Football Player Award he'd be winning for sure.

4. Matt Johnson (Bowling Green) - The Falcons may have dropped their first MAC game this weekend, but Johnson has 1,827 yards through the air with a 9 TD, 3 interception ratio.

5. Joe Licata (Buffalo) - Licata has been nearly flawless as the Bulls have on a roll. He has 14 passing touchdowns this season.

Tait Trophy

1. David Fluellen (Toledo) - Fluellen shakes off haters like it's his job. There are only two thousand-yard rushers in the MAC so far and it's him and Jordan Lynch.

2. Travis Greene (Bowling Green) - Greene is the real deal. He has 906 yards this year with five scores.

3. Branden Oliver (Buffalo) - Bo knows. Oliver has been crazy good as of late jumping up to fourth in the MAC with 874 yards and now has nine touchdowns.

4. Jahwan Edwards (Ball State) - Edwards added another touchdown this weekend giving him the MAC lead with 12.

5. Cameron Stingily (Northern Illinois) - If Lynch can't be represented on the running backs list, Stingily will be. The Huskie tailback has 758 yards and seven touchdowns this year.

Moss-Jennings Trophy

1. Willie Snead (Ball State) - It's just really not even close truthfully...

2. Jordan Williams (Ball State) - Who are we kidding? Both Ball State guys should be up here.

3. Donte Foster (Ohio) - Foster passed LaVon Brazill for Ohio's all-time touchdown receptions record this past weekend. He has 20 over his career and six this season.

4. Alex Neutz (Buffalo) - Neutz has hauled in 39 passes for 628 yards and seven scores for the Bulls this year.

5. Titus Davis (Central Michigan) - Davis has caught five less passes than Neutz but has one less yard.

Eric Fisher Award

1. Tyler Loos (Northern Illinois) - I don't think the Huskies will Loos this year.

2. Zac Kerin (Toledo) - Kerin jumps Page. No matter who is toting the rock for the Rockets, they're getting the job done.

3. Jared Volk (Northern Illinois) - Can you believe Jordan Lynch has only been sacked three times?

4. Matthew Page (Ball State) - Page has only fallen off because Wenning, despite his success through the air, has been sacked nine times.

5. Ryan McGrath (Ohio) - Ohio finally got its first 100-yard rusher during a single game this past weekend plus Tyler Tettleton has only been sacked four times.

Bronze Babin

1. Jayrone Elliott (Toledo) - Elliott has seven sacks on the season and leads all defensive linemen with 10 tackles for loss.

2. Nico Caponi (Akron) - Caponi is tied with Elliott as the top sack-man for defensive linemen with seven.

3. Tarell Basham (Ohio) - The true freshman is stepping up in Ty Branz's absence with seven sacks of his own.

4. Nathan Ollie (Ball State) - Ollie is right behind Elliott in the tackles for loss category averaging .89 per game.

5. Albert Presley (Akron) - He and Caponi have both been stellar for the Zips defense. Presley has five sacks on the season.

Lombardi Award

1. Khalil Mack (Buffalo) - Yup. Mack is definitely the best defensive player in the conference.

2. Justin Cherocci (Central Michigan) - A bye week keeps Cherocci averaging 10.4 tackles per game.

3. Junior Sylvestre (Toledo) - Sylvestre's 11 tackles per game and four sacks are pretty impressive.

4. Kent Kern (Miami) - Kern has been a strong point on an otherwise wow-less RedHawk team. He has 76 tackles on the year.

5. Mike Jones (Western Michigan) - Jones has 85 tackles and a sack for the Broncos this season.

Bayless Award

1. Jimmie Ward (Northern Illinois) - Ward's five interceptions and 56 tackles put him in a good position to win this award.

2. Ronald Zamort (West Michigan) - Zamort has 15 passes defended which is far and away more than the second best in the MAC.

3. Jeffrey Garrett (Ball State) - Garrett has picked off four passes jumping up to second in the MAC in interceptions.

4. Dechane Durante (Northern Illinois) - You can't ignore the turnovers he's forced for the Huskies this season.

5. Devin Bass (Ohio) - His 28 tackles, 2 picks and 11 passes defended aren't bad for someone who didn't even start at the beginning of the season.

Zinc Zastudil

1. Zac Murphy (Miami) - I told MIami's Sports Information Directors that I have a man crush on Zac Murphy.

2. Matthew Sims (Northern Illinois) - Sims moved back into the lead in MAC scoring with 11 points per game.

3. Tyler Allen (Eastern Michigan) - Allen's 681 kickoff return yards are a MAC best.

4. Jeremiah Detmer (Toledo) - Detmer leads the conference with 12 field goals made.

5. Josiah Yazdani (Ohio) - Since winning the kicking job, Yazdani has been six-for-six on field goals. He won this week's MAC East Special Teams Player of the Week.

Rowe Award

1. Khalil Mack (Buffalo)

2. Jimmie Ward (Northern Illinois)

3. Jayrone Elliott (Toledo)

4. Junior Sylvestre (Toledo)

5. Justin Cherocci (Central Michigan)

THE Hustle Belt

1. Jordan Lynch (Northern Illinois)

2. Keith Wenning (Ball State)

3. Khalil Mack (Buffalo)

4. Jimmie Ward (Northern Illinois)

5. Tyler Tettleton (Ohio)

More from Hustle Belt: