clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Chukwuma Okorafor and Sutton Smith Named First Team All-American by the FWAA

Both also clear eligibility hurdle for college football hall of fame

NCAA Football: Cotton Bowl-Wisconsin vs Western Michigan Jerome Miron-USA TODAY Sports

Along with being dominate linemen in the MAC, Chukwuma Okorafor and Sutton Smith now have being a first team All-American in-common.

Okorafor becomes the second first teamer in consecutive years for the Western Michigan Broncos. Corey Davis earned the honor last season. The only other Bronco to be named an All-American by the FWAA was Taylor Moton, who made the second team last season.

Smith became the third Huskie to be given first team status, along with LeShon Johnson (1993) and Shawun Lurry in 2015. The monster Smith had 28.5 tackles for loss, which was 3.5 off the record set by Western Michigan’s Jason Babin, and Smith also led the nation in QB hurries with 73. He was named to the Second Team by the AP.

Along with the prestige of being named a first team All-American, both have earned one of the prerequisites of being in the college football hall of fame. In a peculiar rule, it’s a distinction that must be earned in order to be eligible.

The Football Writer’s Association of America is a non-profit that began in 1941. It’s membership consists of journalists, broadcasters, and publicists. There are currently over 1000 members.