clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

CIT Field 2017: Ball State to take on Fort Wayne Wednesday at 7PM

Cardinals headed to postseason for 2nd straight year

Ball State v San Diego State Photo by Kent C. Horner/Getty Images

The Ball State men's basketball team is headed to the postseason for the second straight year, accepting an invitation to the Postseason Tournament (CIT).

The Cardinals will make the short trip up I-69 to play a first-round road game Wednesday against the Fort Wayne Mastodons. The contest will tip at 7 p.m. on campus at the Gates Sports Center.

Ball State is making its second straight trip to the CIT and its 13th postseason appearance at the Division I level. BSU won two overtime games in last year’s event to reach the quarterfinals before falling at eventual champion Columbia.

The Cardinals are 21-12 overall, reaching 20 wins in back-to-back seasons for the first time since the 1991-92 and 1992-93 campaigns. They shared consecutive MAC West Division championships for the first time since the league implemented divisions in 1998.

Ball State went 11-7 in conference play and earned a first-round bye as the No. 4 seed in last week's MAC Tournament. The Cardinals defeated Western Michigan in the quarterfinals before falling to top seed Akron in the semifinals.

Fort Wayne enters the postseason at 19-12 overall. The Mastodons went 8-8 in the Summit League and lost to Omaha in the quarterfinals of the conference tournament.

The CIT, now in its ninth season, plays all games played on campus sites. There is no pre-determined bracket for the event. In an effort to ensure geographic stability, future round opponents are determined after the results of previous rounds.

First Round: March 13-16 (streamed on Facebook Live)
Second Round: March 17-20 (streamed on Facebook Live)
Quarterfinals: March 23-26 (streamed on Facebook Live)
Semifinals: March 29 (CBS Sports Network)
Championship: March 31 (CBS Sports Network)


Norfolk State (17-16) @ Liberty (19-13) 7:05 pm

Saint Francis (16-16) @ Jacksonville (17-15) 7:00 pm
Houston Baptist (17-13) @ Campbell (17-17) 7:00 pm
Canisius (18-15) @ Samford (19-15) TBA

Ball State (21-12) @ Fort Wayne (19-12) 7:00 pm
Fairfield (16-14) @ UMBC (18-12) 7:00 pm
Georgia State (20-12) @ Texas A&M Corpus Christi (20-11) 8:00 pm
Stephen F. Austin (18-14) @ Idaho (18-13) TBA

Saint Peter's (19-13) @ Albany (21-13) 7:00 pm
Furman (21-11) @ USC Upstate (17-15) 7:00 pm
UNC Asheville (23-9) @ UT Martin (21-12) TBA
Lamar (19-14) @ Texas State (20-13) TBA
Weber State (19-13) @ Cal State Fullerton (17-14) 10:00 pm