clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Mid-American Conference announces updated 2017 football schedule

Kickoff times and TV channels for over 50 games have been revealed for the upcoming season.

NCAA Football: Miami Beach Bowl-Central Michigan vs Tulsa Steve Mitchell-USA TODAY Sports

The Mid-American Conference announced changes to its football schedules earlier Wednesday afternoon, including updated info on start times and channel selections.

Among the highlights are two nationally-televised Saturday kickoff games for MAC members and 22 nationally-televised games in late October and November during the conference season.

Today’s announced changes only affect certain matchups; all other matchups not updated today will be revealed in the customary 12 days prior to kickoff of said matchups.

Below is a list of affected games in order by date:


Thursday, Aug. 31

Elon Phoenix vs. Toledo Rockets, 7 p.m. EST (ESPN3)

Rhode Island Rams vs. Central Michigan Chippewas, 7 p.m. EST (ESPN3)


Friday, Sept. 1

Charlotte 49ers at Eastern Michigan Eagles, 6:30 pm ET (ESPN3)

Boston College Eagles at Northern Illinois Huskies, 9:30 pm ET/8:30 pm CT (CBS Sports Network)


Saturday, Sept. 2

Akron Zips at Penn State Nittany Lions, Noon ET (ABC)

Bowling Green Falcons at Michigan State Spartans, Noon ET (ESPNU)

Kent State Golden Flashes at Clemson Tigers, Noon ET (ESPN)

Western Michigan Broncos at USC Trojans, 5:15 pm ET (Pac-12 Networks)

Miami RedHawks at Marshall Thundering Herd, 6:30 pm ET (TV TBD)

Hampton Pirates at Ohio Bobcats, 7:00 pm ET (ESPN3)


Friday, Sept. 8

Ohio at Purdue Boilermakers, 8:00 pm ET (FS1)


Saturday, Sept. 9

Buffalo at Army West Point Black Knights, Noon ET (CBS Sports Network)

Austin Peay Governors at Miami, 3:30 pm ET (ESPN3)

Eastern Illinois Panthers at NIU, 3:30 pm ET/2:30 pm CT (ESPN3)

Howard Bison at Kent State, 3:30 pm ET (ESPN3)

UAB Blazers at Ball State Cardinals, 3:00 pm ET (ESPN3)

South Dakota Coyotes at Bowling Green, 6:00 pm ET (ESPN3)

Arkansas-Pine Bluff Lions at Akron, 6:30 pm ET (ESPN3)

Toledo Rockets at Nevada Wolfpack, 7:00 pm ET (ESPN3)


Saturday, Sept. 16

Iowa State Cyclones at Akron, Noon ET (CBS Sports Network)

Kansas Jayhawks at Ohio, 2:00 pm ET (ESPN3)

Tennessee Tech Tigers at Ball State, 3:00 pm ET (ESPN3)

Central Michigan at Syracuse, 3:30 pm ET (ACC Network Extra)

Colgate Raiders at Buffalo, 6:00 pm ET (ESPN3)

Kent State at Marshall, 6:30 pm ET (TV TBD)

Idaho Vandals at Western Michigan, 7:00 pm ET (ESPN3)

Tulsa Golden Hurricane at Toledo, 7:00 pm ET (ESPN3)


Saturday, Sept. 23

Ball State at Western Kentucky Hilltoppers, 7:00 pm ET (TV TBD)


Saturday, Sept. 30

NIU at San Diego State Aztecs, 10:30 pm ET/9:30 pm CT (CBS Sports Network)


Saturday, Oct. 14

Eastern Michigan at Army, Noon ET (CBS Sports Network)


Thursday, Oct. 26

Eastern Michigan at NIU, 7:00 pm ET/6:00 pm CT (CBS Sports Network/ESPN3)

Toledo at Ball State, 7:00 pm ET (CBS Sports Network/ESPN3)


Saturday, Oct. 28

Buffalo at Akron, 11:30 am ET (CBS Sports Network)


Tuesday, Oct. 31

Bowling Green at Kent State, 7:30 pm ET OR 8:00 pm ET (ESPN2/ESPNU)

Miami at Ohio, 7:30 pm ET OR 8:00 pm ET (ESPN2/ESPNU)


Wednesday, Nov. 1

Central Michigan at Western Michigan, 8:00 pm ET (ESPN2)


Thursday, Nov. 2

Ball State at Eastern Michigan, 6:00 pm ET (ESPNU/CBS Sports Network)

NIU at Toledo, 6:00 pm ET/5:00 pm CT (ESPNU/CBS Sports Network)


Tuesday, Nov. 7

Akron at Miami, 7:30 pm ET (ESPN2/ESPNU)

Bowling Green at Buffalo, 7:30 pm ET (ESPN2/ESPNU)


Wednesday, Nov. 8

Eastern Michigan at Central Michigan, 7:00 pm ET OR 7:30 pm ET OR 8:00 pm ET

(ESPN2/ESPNU/CBS Sports Network)

Kent State at Western Michigan, 7:00 pm ET OR 7:30 pm ET OR 8:00 pm ET

(ESPN2/ESPNU/CBS Sports Network)

Toledo at Ohio, 7:00 pm ET OR 7:30 pm ET OR 8:00 pm ET (ESPN2/ESPNU/CBS Sports Network)


Thursday, Nov. 9

Ball State at NIU, 7:00 pm ET/6:00 pm ET (CBS Sports Network)


Tuesday, Nov. 14

Central Michigan at Kent State, TBA (ESPN2/ESPNU)

Ohio at Akron, TBA (ESPN2/ESPNU)


Wednesday, Nov. 15

Eastern Michigan at Miami, 7:00 pm ET OR 8:00 pm ET (ESPN2/ESPNU/CBS Sports Network)

Toledo at Bowling Green, 7:00 pm ET OR 8:00 pm ET (ESPN2/ESPNU/CBS Sports Network)

Western Michigan at NIU, 7:00 pm ET/6:00 pm CT OR 8:00 pm ET/7:00 pm CT (ESPN2/ESPNU/CBS Sports Network)


Thursday, Nov. 16

Buffalo at Ball State, 7:00 pm ET (CBS Sports Network)


Tuesday, Nov. 21

Bowling Green at Eastern Michigan, 7:00 pm ET (ESPNU/ESPN3)

Kent State at Akron, 7:00 pm ET (ESPNU/ESPN3)

Miami at Ball State, 7:00 pm ET (ESPNU/ESPN3)


Friday, Nov. 24

NIU at Central Michigan, TBA (ESPNU/CBS Sports Network/ESPN3)

Ohio at Buffalo, TBA (ESPNU/CBS Sports Network/ESPN3)

Western Michigan at Toledo, TBA (ESPNU/CBS Sports Network/ESPN3)


Marathon MAC Championship Game: Saturday, Dec. 2, time TBA (ABC, ESPN or ESPN2)


Bowl games (all televised on ESPN):

Camellia Bowl: Sat., Dec. 16 at 8 p.m. EST

Bahamas Bowl: Fri., Dec. 22 at 12:30 p.m. EST

Potato Bowl: Fri., Dec. 22 at 4:00 p.m. EST

Dollar General Bowl: Sat., Dec. 23 at 7 p.m. EST


Secondary bowl games (all televised on ESPN):

Boca Raton Bowl: Tues., Dec. 19 at 7 p.m. EST

Frisco Bowl: Wed., Dec. 20 at 8 p.m. EST

St. Petersburg Bowl: Thur., Dec. 21 at 8 p.m. EST

Quick Lane Bowl: Tues., Dec. 26 at time TBD