clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Ohio Bobcats men’s basketball to face Clemson in Gildan Charleston Classic opener

3 days, 12 games, 1 MAC member

ESPN Events has revealed the bracket for the tenth annual Gildan Charleston Classic, to be played Nov. 16, 17 & 19 at TD Arena in Charleston, S.C. The bracket-format tournament features 12 games over three days. The teams compete once per day, advancing with a victory. The two teams that remain undefeated will face off in the championship game on Sun., Nov. 19.

Teams participating include Ohio, Auburn, Clemson, Dayton, Hofstra, Indiana State, Old Dominion and Temple. Additional information, including travel packages, can be found on the Gildan Charleston Classic website.

The Ohio University Bobcats will open the Gildan Charleston Classic by taking on Atlantic Coast Conference foe Clemson on Nov. 16 at 5 p.m. ET on ESPN2. The Bobcats and the Tigers will be squaring off for the first time. Clemson is coming off of a 17-win 2016-17 campaign in which it qualified for the National Invitation Tournament.

Ohio will then play either Dayton or Hofstra on Nov. 17 at either 7 p.m. ET or 9:30 p.m. ET. The Flyers went 24-8 last year and qualified for the 2017 NCAA Championship field as an at-large bid. The Bobcats are 21-13 all-time against Dayton, but the programs have not faced off since March 9, 1965 -- a 66-65 victory for the Flyers in the NCAA Mideast Regional. Hofstra is coming off of a 15-win campaign. Ohio is 2-0 all-time against the Pride, with the Bobcats producing an 84-70 victory on Dec. 8, 1986.

The Bobcats will play for placement in the Gildan Charleston Classic on Nov. 19. Ohio is 0-1 all-time against Auburn, 1-0 against Indiana State, 1-0 against Old Dominion and 0-2 against Temple.

Ohio is coming off a 20-11 (11-7 MAC) 2016-17 season in which it recorded 20 overall wins for the second year in a row and achieved a second-straight 11-win conference campaign. The Bobcats locked down the No. 2 seed in the 2017 Mid-American Conference Tournament presented by for the second year in a row, earning a bye to the quarterfinals. Ohio topped No. 7-seeded Toledo in the quarters, 67-66, before falling to No. 6-seed and eventual tournament champion Kent State, 68-66, in the league semifinals.

The entire tournament bracket is viewable at 2017 Charleston Classic Bracket.pdf.