clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Report: Kent State adds Alabama, Kentucky to 2020 future schedule

The Flashes will have a brutal out-of-conference schedule in the near future, but they’ll also make some paper.

NCAA Football: Kent State at Alabama Marvin Gentry-USA TODAY Sports

The Kent State Golden Flashes have reportedly completed their 2020 future schedule by adding two SEC opponents: the Alabama Crimson Tide and the Kentucky Wildcats.

The news was first reported by’s Kevin Kelley.

The Flashes have a tendency to schedule tough in the out-of-conference slate. Last season saw trips to Alabama and Penn State, two squads which finished in the top-10 in all the major polls, while the 2017 slate kicked off with a visit to the defending national champion Clemson Tigers.

Kent State doesn’t have a great history with Alabama, having lost in both all-time meetings to the Tide by scores of 48-7 in 2011 and 48-0 in 2016. The Flashes haven’t fared much better against the Wildcats, going 0-6 all-time in the series.

Kent State will travel to Lexington, Kentucky on Sept. 19, 2020, then to Tuscaloosa, Alabama on Sept. 26, 2020. Kent State will pull in approximately $1.75 million for both games.

This rounds out a tough 2020 out-of-conference slate for the Flashes, who will start the season in Fayetteville, Arkansas to play the Arkansas Razorbacks on Sept. 5, 2020. The Flashes will also host FCS Kennesaw State on Sept. 12, 2020 prior to the games vs. Kentucky and Alabama.

Arkansas, per the report, will pay Kent State $1.5 million for their scheduled game and pay Kennesaw State $315,000 to travel to Dix Stadium, bringing the total projected revenue (not counting expenses) to $4,685,000.

The future schedules for Kent State lean very heavily on SEC and Big Ten opponents over the next three years, with four SEC squads (Ole Miss, Alabama, Auburn, Kentucky), three B1G squads (Illinois, Penn State and Wisconsin) in 12 possible matchups. 2019 will see a trip to Arizona State as well.

FCS opponents over the next three years scheduled include Kennesaw State (twice) and the Howard Bison.