clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

2020 All-MAC Teams and Individual Rewards Revealed

Jaret Patterson wins conference MVP. Ball State leads the way with 13 All-MAC team selections.

COLLEGE FOOTBALL: NOV 28 Kent State at Buffalo Photo by Gregory Fisher/Icon Sportswire via Getty Images

The 2020 All-MAC teams and individual awards were revealed Tuesday morning, following the completion of the conference’s 6-game regular season schedule which ran from Nov. 4 to Dec. 12.

Individual Awards

  • Vern Smith Leadership Award (MAC MVP): Jaret Patterson, RB, Buffalo
  • MAC Offensive Player of the Year: Jaret Patterson, RB, Buffalo
  • MAC Co-Defensive Player of the Year: Brandon Martin, ILB, Ball State
  • MAC Co-Defensive Player of the Year: Troy Hairston, DE, Central Michigan
  • MAC Special Teams Player of the Year: D’Wayne Eskridge, WR/RS, Western Michigan
  • MAC Freshman of the Year: Lew Nichols, RB, Central Michigan
  • MAC Coach of the Year: Lance Leipold, Buffalo

First Team

2020 All-MAC First Team

Pos. Player College
Pos. Player College
QB Dustin Crum Kent State
RB Teon Dollard Akron
RB Jaret Patterson Buffalo
WR Justin Hall Ball State
WR Isaiah McKoy Kent State
WR Tyrice Richie Northern Illinois
WR D'Wayne Eskridge Western Michigan
TE Quintin Morris Bowling Green
OL Kayode Awosika Buffalo
OL Mike Novitsky Buffalo
OL Tommy Doyle Miami (OH)
OL Bryce Harris Toledo
OL Mike Caliendo Western Michigan
DL Malcolm Koonce Buffalo
DL Ralph Holley Western Michigan
DL Troy Hairston II Central Michigan
DL Mohamed Diallo Central Michigan
ILB Brandon Martin Ball State
ILB James Patterson Buffalo
OLB Anthony Ekpe Ball State
OLB Troy Brown Central Michigan
DB Bryce Cosby Ball State
DB Willie Reed Central Michigan
DB Noski LaFleur Eastern Michigan
DB Bricen Garner Western Michigan
K Marshall Meeder Central Michigan
P Luke Elzinga Central Michigan
KR Justin Hall Ball State
KR D'Wayne Eskridge Western Michigan

Second Team

2020 All-MAC Second Team

Pos. Player College
Pos. Player College
QB Drew Plitt Ball State
RB De'Montre Tuggle Ohio
RB La'Darius Jefferson Western Michigan
WR Antonio Nunn Buffalo
WR Kalil Pimpleton Central Michigan
WR Jack Sorenson Miami (OH)
WR Skyy Moore Western Michigan
TE Daniel Crawford Northern Illinois
OL Curtis Blackwell Ball State
OL Jake Fuzak Buffalo
OL Derek Smith Central Michigan
OL Bill Kuduk Kent State
OL Jaylon Moore Western Michigan
DL Turan Rush Eastern Michigan
DL Weston Kramer Northern Illinois
DL Desjuan Johnson Toledo
DL Austin Conrad Ohio
ILB Bubba Arslanian Akron
ILB Terry Myrick Eastern Michigan
OLB Christian Albright Ball State
OLB Jamal Hines Toledo
DB Antonio Phillips Ball State
DB Jordan Gandy Northern Illinois
DB Tycen Anderson Toledo
DB Nate Bauer Toledo
K Chad Ryland Eastern Michigan
P Nathan Snyder Ball State
KR Trayvon Rudolph Northern Illinois
KR De'Montre Tuggle Ohio

Third Team

2020 All-MAC Third Team

Pos. Player College
Pos. Player College
QB Kaleb Eleby Western Michigan
RB Caleb Huntley Ball State
RB Kevin Marks Buffalo
WR Yo'Heinz Tyler Ball State
WR Hassan Beydoun Eastern Michigan
WR Isaiah Winstead Toledo
WR Jaylen Hall Western Michigan
TE Zac Lefebvre Buffalo
OL Sidy Sow Eastern Michigan
OL Nathan Monnin Kent State
OL Danny Godlevske Miami (OH)
OL Brayden Patton Northern Illinois
OL Brett Kitrell Ohio
DL Eddie Wilson Buffalo
DL Jose Ramirez Eastern Michigan
DL Kam Butler Miami (OH)
DL Lonnie Phelps Miami (OH)
ILB Jaylin Thomas Ball State
ILB Kyle Pugh Northern Illinois
ILB Treshaun Hayward Western Michigan
OLB Kholbe Coleman Bowling Green
DB A.J. Watts Akron
DB Devonni Reed Central Michigan
DB Emmanuel Rugamba Miami (OH)
DB Devin Lafayette Northern Illinois
K Alex McNulty Buffalo
P Nick Mihalic Western Michigan
KR Bryson Denley Bowling Green
KR Ron Cook Buffalo

All-MAC Breakdown by Team - Total (First, Second, Third)

  • Ball State - 13 (5, 5, 3)
  • Buffalo - 12 (5, 2, 5)
  • Western Michigan - 12 (5, 3, 4)
  • Central Michigan - 9 (6, 2, 1)
  • Northern Illinois - 8 (1, 4, 3)
  • Eastern Michigan - 7 (1, 3, 3)
  • Toledo - 6 (1, 4, 1)
  • Miami (OH) - 6 (1, 1, 4)
  • Kent State - 4 (2, 1, 1)
  • Ohio - 4 (0, 3, 1)
  • Akron - 3 (1, 1, 1)
  • Bowling Green - 3 (1, 0, 2)

Additional Notes

  • Ball State received the most overall selections with 13.
  • Central Michigan received the most First Team selections with 6, including four on defense, the kicker, and the punter.
  • Three players made multiple appearances on All-MAC teams. Ball State’s Justin Hall and Western Michigan’s D’Wayne Eskridge both landed First Team selections as wide receivers and return specialists, while Ohio’s De’Montre Tuggle earned a Second Team nomination as a running back and kick returner.
  • Jaret Patterson is the first Buffalo player ever to win the Vern Smith Leadership Award, which recognizes the conference’s MVP.
  • A pair of twins appeared on the All-MAC First Team this year — Buffalo running back James Patterson and Buffalo inside linebacker James Patterson.
  • Troy Hairston and Brandon Martin are the first MAC Co-Defensive Players of the Year since 1980.
  • Buffalo head coach Lance Leipold won his second MAC Coach of the Year award after winning his first in 2018, joining P.J. Fleck (Western Michigan), Bob Pruett (Marshall), Gary Pinkel (Toledo), Paul Schudel (Ball State), Gary Blackney (Bowling Green), Herb Deromedi (Central Michigan), Denny Stolz (Bowling Green), Bill Mallory (Miami/Northern Illinois), Chuck Stobart (Toledo), and Frank Lauterbur (Toledo) as multi-time recipients of the honor.
  • Buffalo kicker Alex McNulty made the All-MAC Third Team despite not making a field goal this season. The Bulls attempted one field goal in total, but McNulty was a perfect 36/36 on extra points.