clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Brackets for 2021 Mid-American Conference Women’s Basketball Championship Tournament unveiled

BGSU and CMU are the teams to beat, nabbing the highest seeds for the new, eight-team format.

Central Michigan Athletic Department

With the conclusion of the regular season for women’s basketball earlier this evening, the Mid-American Conference officially unveiled their preliminary bracket for the 2021 MAC Championship Tournament to take place in Cleveland, Ohio, starting on March 10.

The bracket is as follows:

Quarterfinals (March 10):

  • #1 Bowling Green vs. #8 Eastern Michigan; 11 a.m., ESPN+
  • #4 Buffalo vs. #5 Kent State, 30 minutes after Game #1, ESPN+
  • #2 Central Michigan vs. #7 Northern Illinois, 30 minutes after Game #2, ESPN+
  • #3 Ohio vs. #6 Ball State, 30 minutes after Game #3, ESPN+

Semifinals will take place on March 12, with the Game #1 winner vs. the Game #2 winner tipping off at 10 a.m. ET, and the Game #3 winner vs. Game #4 winner playing afterwards. Both games will be aired nationally on ESPN+.

The championship game between the two semi-final winners will tip off at 11p.m. ET, and air nationally on CBS Sports Network.

Much like on the men’s side of the tournament, once the bracket is set, teams are subject to forfeiting via no-contest if they fail COVID testing, with the other team advancing.

Should there be an upset of a high seed, the top four teams in the conference are mandated to test for COVID if eliminated from postseason contention, in order to ensure the eligibility of the teams remaining in play.

More information regarding tournament eligibility and automatic qualifier policies can be found here.