clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Davey O'Brien Award Watch List Revealed: Matt Johnson Is The Only MAC Player Listed

Bowling Green's Matt Johnson is the only one on the watch list for the Davey O'Brien Award.

Andrew Weber-USA TODAY Sports

Davey O'Brien Award is given out after the season is over to recognize the nation's best quarterback. Last year's winner was Florida State's Jameis Winston, who would also go on to win the Heisman trophy as a freshman.

The watch list for this award was released this earlier today, including 39 players from ten different conferences and three from Independent schools. Bowling Green's Matt Johnson is the only one from on that list that represents a Mid-American Conference school.

2013 stats compared to other MAC quarterbacks:

Name (School) Comp. Att % Yds Yds/A TD INT QBR
M. Johnson (BGSU) 237 369 64.2 3,467 9.4 25 7 161.7
K. Wenning (Ball St) 319 498 64.1 4,148 8.3 35 7 154.4
T. Tettleton (Ohio) 230 371 62.0 2,851 7.7 21 12 138.8
J. Lynch (NIU) 253 404 62.6 2,892 7.2 24 8 138.4
J. Licata (Buffalo) 233 402 58.0 2,824 7.0 24 8 132.7

Stats courtesy of ESPN

Besides Johnson, Licata is the only one in the table above that is returning to his team.

Last year, Johnson played in all 14 games, starting in all except for the season opener. In his third start of the season against Murray State, Johnson went 19-for-22 for 244 yards with two touchdowns to help the Falcons win 48-7, earning MAC East Offensive Player of the Week honors. But his most memorable performance last year was against Northern Illinois in the MAC Championship game, where he had a 77.8 completion percentage for 393 yards and five touchdowns. In the Little Caesars Bowl against Pittsburgh, he was 20-for-32 for 272 yards with two touchdowns and no interceptions in the 3-point loss.