clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

2015-16 MAC Men's Basketball: Preseason poll, All-MAC team announced

Akron and Central Michigan are both picked to win their respective divisions this season.

Ken Blaze-USA TODAY Sports

Mid-American Conference media members have all submitted their preseason men's basketball ballots to pick the winners of the East and West divisions, crowned tournament champions and All-MAC teams.

Central Michigan Chippewas earned 23 first place votes to be the preseason consensus to win the West, followed by Toledo, Western Michigan, Eastern Michigan, Northern Illinois and Ball State.

For the East, Akron Zips picked up 17 first place votes to be the favorite in their division. Kent State comes in second with 116 points and five first place votes with Ohio, no first place votes, picked to finish third with 69 points. Defending MAC Tournament champions Buffalo Bulls picked to finish fourth in the East and earned one first place vote; Miami and Bowling Green make up the rest of the division.

CMU received the most amount of picks to win the MAC Tournament with 15, fell 89-84 to Buffalo last season in the championship game. Akron, the East favorite, received six votes to make it to the NCAA Tournament with Buffalo and Kent State also receiving a vote as well.

Complete voting results with All-MAC teams are below:

2015-16 MAC East Division Predicted Order of Finish (first place votes)
1. Akron, 132 points (17)
2. Kent State, 116 (5)
3. Ohio, 69
4. Buffalo, 64 (1)
5. Miami, 60
6. Bowling Green, 42

2015-16 MAC West Division Predicted Order of Finish (first place votes)
1. Central Michigan, 138 points (23)
2. Toledo, 110
3. Western Michigan, 94
4. Eastern Michigan, 71
5. Northern Illinois, 37
6. Ball State, 33

MAC Tournament Champion: Central Michigan (15), Akron (6), Buffalo (1), Kent State (1)

MAC East Division Preseason All-MAC Team
Pat Forsythe (C, Akron)
Lamonte Bearden (G, Buffalo)
Jimmy Hall (F, Kent State)
Eric Washington (G, Miami)
Antonio Campbell (F, Ohio)

MAC West Division Preseason All-MAC Team
Chris Fowler (G, Central Michigan)
John Simons (F, Central Michigan)
Raven Lee (G, Eastern Michigan)
Nathan Boothe (C, Toledo)
Connar Tava (F, Western Michigan)