clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

2016-17 MAC Men’s Basketball Recap: Buffalo Bulls vs. Nevada Wolf Pack

Marcus Marshall leads all scorers with 23 points, as Nevada defeats Buffalo, 67-62 in the Great Alaska Shootout.

Buffalo Bulls
Buffalo Bulls
Kaleb Carter

Blake Hamilton struggled from the floor, shooting only 3 of 18, but was able to make his free throws and manage 14 points and eight rebounds for Buffalo, but the Bulls weren’t able to cover, as the Nevada Wolf Pack pulled away late to win, 67-62 in the Great Alaska Shootout. The Bulls move to 3-2 early on this season, while Nevada moves to 5-1 with the victory.

Nick Perkins also struggled, as he only hit 4 of 15 shots for nine points and nine rebounds on the night. Willie Conner was able to add 12 points, and Ikenna Smart with 10 more for the Bulls effort, but were unable to pull out the victory.

Marcus Marshall led all scorers as he piled up 23 points for the Wolf Pack. Cameron Oliver earned a double double on a night where he shot 4 of 13 from the field, with 12 points and 12 rebounds, and Lindsey Drew was able to contribute 11 points while dishing out eight assists.

The Bulls converted on just 4 of 17 three-pointers, and shot a 36.5% clip from the field on the night. The Wolf Pack were able to make 11 of 32 three-pointers, which accumulated for half of the team scoring. Nevada made 22 of 61 shots on the night for a 36.1% clip.

Both teams made 12 of 16 free throws on the night, good for a 75% percent. The teams also tied in the rebounding category, as both teams pulled down 40 rebounds, 12 offensive, and 28 defensive.

In the last 3:30 of this game, after a Willie Conner layup to make it 67-62, the teams went cold and no one was able to make a shot, as turnovers and missed jumpers led to this game finishing with no more scoring. Both teams looked out of sort in the final minutes, but Nevada still emerges victorious.

Buffalo will travel to Omaha, Nebraska to face the 12th ranked Creighton Bluejays on Tuesday November 29th. Tip-off is set for 8:30 and will be televised on Fox Sports One.