clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

2012 MAC Football Postseason Awards Cheatsheet

They announced the MAC postseason awards this morning.


Vern Smith Leadership Award Winner: QB Jordan Lynch, Northern Illinois
Coach of the Year: Darrell Hazell, Kent State
Offensive Player of the Year: QB Jordan Lynch, Northern Illinois
Defensive Player of the Year: DT Chris Jones, Bowling Green
Special Teams Player of the Year: KR Dri Archer, Kent State
Freshman of the Year: WR Jaime Wilson, Western Michigan

I honestly thought they'd split up the Lynch/Archer awards a bit more between Vern Smith and Offensive POY, but Lynch swept both honors and Archer will have to "settle" for first team running back and Special Teams POY. Everything else was entirely expected. Jones was the most forceful defensive player in the MAC, perhaps in a few years. Wilson was a bright spot in a dismal WMU season. And Darrell Hazell became the most successful coach in Kent State history.

Below is our annual grid of all the winners, sorted by team and points.

School First Team
(3 pts)
Second Team
(2 pts)
Third Team
(1 pt)
Ball State OL Austin Holtz
TE Zane Fakes
WR Willie Snead
WR Jamill Smith
PK Steven Schott
QB Keith Wenning
ILB Travis Freeman
DL Jonathan Newsome
OL Jordan Hansel
OL Cam Lowry
RB Jahwan Edwards
DL Nate Ollie
DB Eric Patterson
KR Jamill Smith
PR Jamill Smith
Toledo C Zac Kerin
WR Bernard Reedy
RB David Fluellen
ILB Dan Molls
DB Jermaine Robinson
PR Bernard Reedy
KR Bernard Reedy OL Greg Mancz
WR Alonzo Russell
PK Jeremiah Detmer
DB Cheatham Norrils
Kent State OL Brian Winters
RB Dri Archer
KR Dri Archer
DL Roosevelt Nix
OL Josh Kline
ILB Luke Batton
DB Luke Wollet
RB Trayion Durham
OLB C.J. Malauulu
DL Jake Dooley
NIU QB Jordan Lynch
WR Martel Moore
DL Sean Progar
DL Alan Baxter
DB Jimmie Ward
OL Tyler Loos
OLB Tyrone Clark
None 19
BGSU OLB Gabe Martin
DL Chris Jones
DB BooBoo Gates
OL Jordan Roussos
P Brian Schmiedebusch
OL Dominic Flewellyn
TE Alex Bayer
ILB Dwayne Woods
DL Ted Ouellet
DB Cameron Truss
WMU OL Dann O'Neil
WR Jaime Wilson
DL Freddie Bishop
DB Justin Currie
PR Jaime Wilson
C Kevin Galeher
ILB Desmond Bozeman
DB Johnnie Simon
Ohio None C Skyler Allen
OL Eric Herman
RB Beau Blankenship
PK Matt Weller
OLB Alphonso Lewis
DL Neal Huynh
CMU OL Eric Fisher WR Titus Davis
RB Zurlon Tipton
DB Jahleel Addae
WR Cody Wilson 10
EMU P Jay Karutz TE Garrett Hoskins
OLB Justin Cudworth
DL Andy Mulumba
None 9
Miami (OH) DB Dayonne Nunley
WR Nick Harwell QB Zac Dysert
WR Andy Cruse
Buffalo OLB Khalil Mack WR Alex Neutz
DL Steven Means
None 7
UMass ILB Perry McIntyre DB Darren Thellen P Colter Johnson 6
Akron None None WR Marquelo Suel 1


• At some point they're going to call the Vern Smith Award the NIU Player of the Year. Someone for the black and red has won that six out of the last seven years: Lynch, Chandler Harnish, Chad Spann, Larry English (twice) and Garrett Wolfe. Dan LeFevour is the only non-NIU player since 2006 to claim it.

• Eight wins and no first-teamers for Ohio? Akron was the only other team without one.

• Keith Wenning guided that offense well and Dysert needs to be included in his farewell season, but how did Terrance Owens not slide in there somewhere?

• I disagree with the tight end selections. Garrett Hoskins is the most impressive tight end I've seen in the MAC in quite a while. Fakes has more touchdowns and receptions, but Hoskins has more yards and I can remember some big catches of his that were negated by penalties.

• I love me some BooBoo, but I am astonished that he took home first team as a defensive back. I'd switch him and perhaps Addae, maybe even move Gates down to third team. And when was the last time the conference interception leader, Buffalo's Najja Johnson (five INTs), didn't make the board?

• Wilson is a great and obvious choice for top freshman, but a trendy one would've been Kent State punter Anthony Melchiori, third in the MAC in average punting and the first freshman punter in a very long time to boot way over 40 yards per punt.

• Jay Karutz is EMU's first first-teamer since 2007. Punters are people too!

• An impressive and unspoken streak broken for Buffalo is gone. With Mack as their lone first-teamer, that snaps a four-year streak they had at least two first-teamers. Three of those years they had three.

• Poor Akron. This is the third straight year they've only had one player recognized.

• Remember last year when Weller won Special Teams Player of the Year but not first-team kicker? Sorry, that's still weird to me.

Now here's the All-MAC points per team win. A higher value could indicate a team was over-awarded or has more individual talent than team depth.

Kent State: 1.91 (21 to 11)
NIU: 1.75 (19 to 11)
Ball State 3.11 (28 to 9)
Toledo: 2.66 (24 to 9)
BGSU: 2.25 (18 to 8)
OHIO: 1.25 (10 to 8)
CMU: 1.66 (10 to 6)
WMU: 3.50 (14 to 4)
Buffalo: 1.75 (7 to 4)
Miami: 1.75 (7 to 4)
EMU: 4.50 (9 to 2)
UMass: 6.00 (6 to 1)
Akron: 1.00 (1 to 1)