clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Three Mid-American Conference Kickers Named To 2014 Lou Groza Watch List

These MAC kickers can kick the football. Well, hey, that's why they're being recognized!

Jeremiah Detmer is one of three MAC kickers on the Lou Groza Award Watch List
Jeremiah Detmer is one of three MAC kickers on the Lou Groza Award Watch List

When Mid-American Conference teams are scoring touchdowns IN BUNCHES on weeknights and such, sometimes a couple fellas are called on to kick the ball between some posts for three points. Trust me, it's more exciting than you think, especially when you can win a game with such a kick.

Well, with such talented kickers competing for MAC teams, it makes sense that the conference has at least three kickers on the Lou Groza Award watch list, which was announced on Wednesday. And trust us, the coaches who have these kickers on their respective teams feel more secure in their special teams than Rod Carey does.

Toledo's Jeremiah Detmer, Bowling Green's (as if they need more offensive weapons) Tyler Tate, and Ohio's Josiah Yazdani all have played enough to warrant a spot on the watch list.

According to the Groza Award's website, the honor is bestowed upon "...the nation's top collegiate place-kicker as determined by a voting panel of Division 1 head coaches, sports writers and sportscasters from across the country, conference representatives, professional kickers and previous winners."

Detmer, a senior, is coming off a season where he was named MAC Special Team's Player of the Year after connecting on 19 of his 20 field goal attempts, as well as missing just one of his 45 PATs.

BG's Tate, an incoming junior, booted 18 of 22 tries through the uprights and converted on 59 of 61 PATs.

The Bobcat, Yazdani, after initially starting the season having lost the kicking battle for first on the depth chart, came on in place of faltering starter Matt Green to hit 14 of 15 field goal attempts, to go along with making good on all 30 PATs.

No MAC kickers have ever won the Lou Groza award since its creation in 1992.