clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Ball State Cardinals 2014 Depth Chart Released

Ozzie Mann listed as starter at quarterback.

Joe Robbins

Preseason camp has concluded in Muncie, and Ball State head coach Pete Lembo's quarterback question finally has some answers.

6-foot-1 205 pound sophomore Ozzie Mann is listed as the starting quarterback on the depth chart released on August 18th.  Mann was rumored to be the favorite to win the position as camp progressed.  Last year as a freshman playing behind Keith Wenning, he appeared in six games, completing 2 of 9 passes for 29 yards on the season.

Listed behind Mann is Kyle Kamman.  The 6-foot 185 pound junior participated on special teams last year, holding for field goals and extra points in four games.  He did not attempt a pass.

Behind Kamman is freshman Jack Milas.  6-foot, 215 pounds recruited out of Arlington Heights, Illinois, there were rumblings early on that Milas would challenge for the starting spot.

A question mark for the Cardinals throughout camp was also who would replace the explosive Jamill Smith in the kick return game.  Smith led the MAC last season averaging 26 yards per kick return.  Those duties will fall to Aaron Hepp, a 6-foot-1 183 pounds sophomore wide receiver, and Eric Patterson, a 5-foot-10 189 pound senior quarterback.

Ball State opens the 2014 season Saturday, August 30th at home against Colgate.

Offense Defense
QT Steven Bell Ian Anderson Rush Michael Ayers Anthony Winbush
QG Jeremiah Harvey P.J. Scott DT Darnell Smith Blake Dueitt Kevin Willis
C Jacob Richard Taylor Hoke NT Keenan Noel Bruce Heggie
SG Jalen Schlachter Vinnie Palazeti DE Nick Miles Tracy Key Osa Igbinosun
ST Drake Miller Nick Plavchak WLB Ben Ingle Julian Boyd Stu Stanley
TE Sam Brunner Dylan Curry Michael Raby MLB Zack Ryan Sean Wiggins
QB Ozzie Mann Kyle Kamman Jack Milas SLB/Nickel Aaron Taylor Quintin Cooper Avery Bailey
HB Jahwan Edwards Horactio Banks BC Eric Patterson Darius Conaway
WRX Jordan Williams Shane Bell FS Dae'Shaun Hurley Martez Hester
WRZ Chris Shillings Aaron Hepp Corey Lacanaria SS Brian Jones Gilbert Stlouis
WRW KeVonn Mabon Shane Bell Jordan Hogue FC Darius Conaway Tyree Holder David Moore


PK Scott Secor Cody Dickson PR Aaron Hepp Jordan Williams Corey Lacanaria Darian Green
P Kyle Schmidt Alex Egan
LS Nick Traub Brendon Towle KR Eric Patterson KeVonn Mabon Jahwan Edwards Horactio Banks
H Kyle Kamman Kyle Schmidt