clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

2014 Central Michigan Chippewas Depth Chart Released

It's officially official; with the first game of non-conference play approaching, the Chippewa starters have been announced.

Raj Mehta-USA TODAY Sports

There have been a couple questions in regards to Central Michigan's starting line-up this fall, including who will start alongside Titus Davis at wide receiver, who Justin Cherocci's running partner will be at linebacker, and who exactly will carry the brunt of the load at running back with the departure of Zurlon Tipton?

The answer lies here in the first official Central Michigan depth chart of 2014.

Coach Dan Enos seems to really like experience over potential with the release of this depth chart, as there are only three starters on both sides of the ball that are not in their junior year or above, with all three being sophomores.

Cooper Rush won the quarterback battle. Cody Kater's history injury, along with Rush's development last year, made it no contest.

Davis will have Courtney Williams and Jesse Kroll alongside him at the wide receiver position, with Eric Cooper, Anthony Rice, and Corey Willis rotating in on packages. Mike Kinville, Ben McCord, and Deon Butler will all split time at the tight end spot.

Saylor Lavallii appears to have won the battle as the primary running back for the Chippewas, with Michigan transfer Thomas Rawls a close second. Maurice Shoemaker-Gilmore and Martez Walker will also be seeing time at the position. The big news in the running back front is the conversion of Anthony Garland from halfback to fullback after a career-ending series of injuries to Indiana transfer Matt Zakrzewski.

The defensive line looks seriously big (and young) as Leterrius Walton and Jabari Dean fill up the tackle positions, while Joe Ostman and Blake Serpa occupy the ends.

Cherocci is a clear shoe-in at Mike linebacker in the 4-2-5 Chippewa defense. The question coming in was who would be the Sam. Cody Lopez appears to be the answer, but look for Tim Hamilton to also get some time.

The defensive backs look just as strong as the defensive line, with Cody King taking the nickel corner position, Jarret Chapman and Kavon Frazier as deep safeties, and Tony Annese at cover safety. Brandon Greer and Jason Wilson will start at both corner spots.

Special teams seems to be the joker in the deck for the Chippewas. Ron Coluzzi will be handling all kicking duties this season, including punting (which he won over touted freshman Cooper Mojsiejenko,) placekicking, and kickoff duty (where Coluzzi won both over Brian Eavey.) Titus Davis will return punts, while Saylor Lavallii and Courtney Williams will tag-team the kick returns. Finally, Cody Kater won the holder position battle over punter Matt Mills.

The Chippewas open up non-conference play against the Tennessee-Chattanooga Mocs at Kelly/Shorts Stadium on August 28th.