clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Frohnapfel, Terrell named to Davey O'Brien Award Watch List

Matthew O'Haren-USA TODAY Sports

The Davey O'Brien Award is one of the most highly-regarded awards a college quarterback could receive. 24 players across the nation have been listed as early possible candidates to receive this honor, including two from the MAC. Based off of previous accolades and performances and future expectations, UMass Minutemen quarterback Blake Frohnapfel and Western Michigan Broncos' Zach Terrell have both been recognized on this early watch list.

Frohnapfel was a First-Team All-MAC recipient, despite winning only three games last season (all in-conference wins). Entering his first year as a graduate student after spending a couple years as Rakeem Cato's backup at Marshall, Frohnapfel ended the year with 23 passing touchdowns and 3,345 yards completing 55 percent of his passes, fourth in the FBS with 334.5 yards per game and ninth with 24.1 completions per game. Early on last year against Bowling Green, Frohnapfel went 36-for-61 through the air for 589 yards, one of five games where he had over 300 passing yards in a single game. His presence on offense is probably the biggest reason why UMass is a dark horse pick to win the MAC East this season.

Many argue that redshirt-junior Terrell might be the best QB in the MAC, leading the way with a 164.4 efficiency rating. A Second Team All-MAC pick last year, completing 68 percent of his passes for 3,443 yards and 26 scores. Terrell had only three games with at least 300 passing yards last season with a career high of 370 against Toledo, where he also completed 81 percent of his passes (30-for-37). Against Eastern Michigan, Terrell completed 89.5 percent of his passes going 17-for-19 with four touchdowns.

Complete list:

Trevone Boykin (TCU, Senior)

Connor Cook (Michigan State, Senior)

Joshua Dobbs (Tennessee, Junior)

Brandon Doughty (Western Kentucky, Senior)

Blake Frohnapfel (UMass, Senior)

Jared Goff (California, Junior)

Christian Hackenberg (Penn State, Junior)

Taysom Hill (BYU, Senior)

Kevin Hogan (Stanford, Senior)

Jeremy Johnson (Auburn, Sophomore)

Cardale Jones* (Ohio State, Junior)

Brad Kaaya (Miami, Sophomore)

Chuckie Keeton (Utah State, Senior)

Cody Kessler (USC, Senior)

Gunner Kiel (Cincinnati, Junior)

Fredi Knighten (Arkansas State, Junior)

Paxton Lynch (Memphis, Sophomore)

Dak Prescott (Mississippi State, Senior)

Keenan Reynolds (Navy, Senior)

Anu Solomon (Arizona, Sophomore)

Zach Terrell (Western Michigan, Junior)

Justin Thomas (Georgia Tech, Junior)

Deshaun Watson (Clemson, Sophomore)

Marquise Williams (North Carolina, Senior)