clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Jarvion Franklin to Walter Camp Award Watch List

First player to win both MAC Freshman of the Year & MAC Offensive Player of the Year in the same season

Sandra Dukes-USA TODAY Sports

The Walter Camp Award Watch list of the top 50 players to watch this season was released this morning. The last watch list of these preseason awards, the Walter Camp Award is given annually to the best player in college football. Among those on the list is Western Michigan Broncos running back Jarvion Franklin, the only player from the Mid-American Conference to make the preseason cut.

Coming in as a two-star recruit from Tinley Park, Illinois, Franklin became an instant intra-conference superstar nearing 600 total yards and nine scores through his first three games as a true freshman. Franklin finished the season second in the MAC with 1,551 yards (80 yards behind Kareem Hunt) and 24 touchdowns, fourth in the nation. Franklin had six games with at least 150 rushing yards (had 149 yards on the road against Bowling Green if that passes as "close enough") as well as six games with three touchdowns.

Franklin became the first player to win both MAC Freshman Player of the Year and MAC Offensive Player of the Year accolades in the same season.

The Broncos open the season up against the Michigan State Spartans at home on September 4, 2015. The winner of the Walter Camp Award will be announced on Thursday, December 10.

Complete List:

S Dante Barrett, Kansas State

QB J.T. Barrett, Ohio State

RB Devontae Booker, Utah

DE Joey Bosa, Ohio State

QB Trevone Boykin, TCU

DE Shilique Calhoun, Michigan State

DB Jeremy Cash, Duke

RB Nick Chubb, Georgia

RB James Conner, Pittsburgh

QB Connor Cook, Michigan State

LB Su'a Cravens, USC

QB Brandon Doughty, Western Kentucky

DB/KR DeVon Edwards, Duke

RB Ezekiel Elliott, Ohio State

RB Kenneth Farrow, Houston

RB Leonard Fournette, LSU

RB Jarvion Franklin, Western Michigan

RB Royce Freeman, Oregon

DB Kendall Fuller, Virginia Tech

WR Will Fuller, Notre Dame

QB Jared Goff, California

QB Everett Golson, Florida State

QB Christian Hackenberg, Penn State

DB Vernon Hargreaves III, Florida

RB Derrick Henry, Alabama

WR Rashard Higgins, Colorado State

QB Taysom Hill, BYU

QB Kevin Hogan, Stanford

RB/LB Myles Jack, UCLA

RB Devon Johnson, Marshall

QB Cardale Jones, Ohio State

QB Cody Kessler, USC

QB Gunner Kiel, Cincinnati

QB Paxton Lynch, Memphis

LB Blake Martinez, Stanford

RB Elijah McGuire, Louisiana

QB Braxton Miller, Ohio State

DE Shaun Oakman, Baylor

RB Samaje Perine, Oklahoma

RB Paul Perkins, UCLA

QB Dak Prescott, Mississippi State

QB Keenan Reynolds, Navy

QB Anu Solomon, Arizona

QB Justin Thomas, Georgia Tech

DB Darian Thompson, Boise State

WR Laquon Treadwell, Ole Miss

QB Deshaun Watson, Clemson

WR Duke Williams, Auburn

LB Scooby Wright III, Arizona

QB Malik Zaire, Notre Dame